Contact & People

Department of History and Sociology
Irving K. Barber Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
University of British Columbia Okanagan
1147 Research Road
Kelowna, BC V1V 1V7
Canada

Email: hs.okanagan@ubc.ca
Please direct all general inquires to the above email address.

Find a Program Advisor

Find our people

Role:
Disciplines :
Search Keyword:

Luis Aguiar | Associate Professor | Sociology | luis.aguiar@ubc.ca | 250.807.9346 | ART 316

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: The globalization of the "Justice for Janitors" campaigns; global unions; Eddie Melo: What were you? The Neoliberal University; whiteness; the Canadian Hinterland.
Courses & Teaching: Globalization and labour; urban sociology; sociology of tourism; race and racism; qualitative methods; urban studies.
Piotr (Peter) Ahmad | Instructor | Sociology | p.ahmad@ubc.ca
Research Interests: Sociology of identity, ethnic and political identities, national identity and citizenship, nationalism, political and social theory, sovereignty and Indigenous sovereignty, theory of cultural and minority rights.
Courses & Teaching: Introduction to sociology, political sociology, social inequality (UBCO); in the past: global politics.
Bonar Buffam | Assistant Professor | Sociology | bonar.buffam@ubc.ca | 250.807.9223 | ART 306

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Race and empire; crime and punishment; socio-legal studies; religion and secularity; urban geographies; social and cultural theory.
Courses & Teaching: SOCI 209: Foundations of Sociological Thought (Term 1); SOCI 496D: True Crime Sociology (Term 1); SOCI 377: Contemporary Sociological Theory (Term 2); SOCI 496N: Sociology of Religion (Term 2)
Todd Campbell | Continuing Sessional Lecturer | History | todd.campbell@ubc.ca | 250.807.9387 | ART 247
Margaret Carlyle | Assistant Professor | History | margaret.carlyle@ubc.ca | ART 247

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: History of science, technology, and medicine; history of reproduction and the life sciences; gender and women's studies; history of the body; material culture; science and race in the Atlantic world.
Courses & Teaching: Courses in 2020–21: HIST 218: History of Science; HIST 310A (Topics in the History of Medicine & Disease): Reproduction & Motherhood in Multimedia—1700–present; HIST 383C (Special Topics in Social & Culture History): Race, Gender, & Science in the Early Altantic World
Lesley Cormack | Professor | History, Sociology | lesley.cormack@ubc.ca | ADM 102
Research Interests: History of science, history of geography, mathematics, early modern England
Ruth Frost | Department Head, Associate Professor | History | ruth.frost@ubc.ca | 250.807.9407 | ART 314
Research Interests: Late medieval English urban history.
Courses & Teaching: History of western civilization; women in Canada and the US to 1867. Specifically: History 116 – History of Western Civilization, 1450-1789; History 119 – Medieval Europe; History 314 – Women in Canada and the US to 1867; History 420 – Women in Early Modern Europe; History 424 – Women in the Middle Ages; History 430A – Migration and Immigration in Europe from 1000-1650 CE.
Catherine Higgs | Professor | History | catherine.higgs@ubc.ca | 250.807.9978 | ART 317

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Southern Africa; Portuguese Africa; Atlantic World; religion; politics; activism; labour; agriculture; policy.
Courses & Teaching: Africa; South Africa; British and Portuguese colonialism; religious history; women's history; world history.
Jasmin Hristov | Assistant Professor | Sociology, Gender and Women's Studies | jasmin.hristov@ubc.ca | 250.807.9433 | ART 310

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Development and conflict; political violence; non-state armed actors; human rights; neoliberalilsm; Latin America; land dispossession; human trafficking and sexual violence.
Courses & Teaching: Political sociology; development sociology; sociology of gender; global sociology; social inequality; social problems; globalization; social justice and human rights; classical and contemporary sociological theory; social movements; gender and development.
James Hull | Associate Professor Emeritus | History | james.hull@ubc.ca
Research Interests: History of the Second Industrial Revolution as an historical phenomenon, as an historical concept, and as an historiographic problem; understanding how and why technology changes.
Courses & Teaching: History of science and technology; industrialization.
Brigitte Le Normand (On Leave) | Associate Professor | History | brigitte.lenormand@ubc.ca | 250.807.8232 | ART 246

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Urban studies; socialist Yugoslavia; labour migration in Cold War Europe.
Courses & Teaching: European urban history; Modern Eastern Europe; the Soviet Union; Modern France; urban studies. Specifically: HIST 115 World History from First to Second World War; HIST 126 History of Western Civilization; HIST 336 Eastern Europe During the Cold War; HIST 443 20th-Century Russia
Jan McTavish | Adjunct Professor | History | jan.mctavish@ubc.ca
Research Interests: History of the pharmaceutical industry; therapeutics; aspirin.
Courses & Teaching: History of science and medicine; ancient history.
Mary Ann Murphy | Associate Professor | Social Work, Sociology | mary-ann.murphy@ubc.ca | 250.807.8705 | ART 153

Graduate student supervisor


Courses & Teaching: Constitutional/Charter Litigation & Social Policy Policy and Practice Issues Affecting an Older Population Social Policy and Comparative Family Policy Social Welfare Law and Human Rights: International Human Rights & Aging Aging/Gerontological Social Work Intergenerational Relationships Visual Sociology
Ben Nilson | Associate Professor | History | ben.nilson@ubc.ca | 250.807.9327 | ART 244
Research Interests: Popular religion and social history of the Middle Ages.
Courses & Teaching: History of Medieval Europe; early modern England. Specifically: HIST 110 Survey of the Ancient World; HIST 119 Medieval Europe; HIST 201 Religion in the West; HIST 325 Europe in 1215; HIST 324 Tudor England, 1485-1603; HIST 344 Stuart England, 1603-1714; HIST 413 Reformation Europe; HIST 414 Medieval England
Doug Owram | Professor Emeritus | History | doug.owram@ubc.ca
Research Interests: Post-Confederation Canadian history, with a specialization in intellectual, social and economic history.
Courses & Teaching: Canadian foreign policy; Canadian intellectual history; post 45 Canada.
Shelley Pacholok (On Leave) | Assistant Professor | Sociology | shelley.pacholok@ubc.ca | 250.807.8707
Research Interests: Gender; families; work; disaster.
Courses & Teaching: Gender; work; families; social inequality; qualitative methods.
Tim Paulson | Assistant Professor | History | tim.paulson@ubc.ca | 250.807.8588 | ART 245

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Canadian history; environmental history; economic history; history of capitalism.
Courses & Teaching: Environmental history; Canadian history; North American history; world history.
Peter Russell | Associate Professor Emeritus | History | peter.russell@ubc.ca | 250.807.9365 | ART 245
Research Interests: Canadian social and political history.
Deana Simonetto | Assistant Professor | Sociology | deana.simonetto@ubc.ca | 250.807.8688 | ART 310

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Gender, Health and Sport, Qualitative Methods, Self and Identity, Symbolic Interaction, Deviance and Social Problems, Social Media.
Courses & Teaching: Sociology of gender, sociology of sport, introduction to sociology, qualitative methods.
Jessica Stites Mor | Associate Professor | History | jessica.stites-mor@ubc.ca | 250.807.9655 | ART 242

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Transnational solidarity movements; politics and culture of the left; cinema and digital media.
Courses & Teaching: Latin America; Global South; documentary.
Duane Thomson | Professor Emeritus | History | duane.thomson@shaw.ca
Research Interests: British Columbia history, First Nations and Metis history and Okanagan history.
Patricia Tomic | Associate Professor Emeritus | Sociology | patricia.tomic@ubc.ca
Research Interests: Politics of language; Latin American immigration to Canada; feminism; Chile; the Okanagan.
Courses & Teaching: Sociological theory; sociology of education; feminism.
Ricardo Trumper | Associate Professor Emeritus | Sociology | ricardo.trumper@ubc.ca
Research Interests: Latin America; neoliberalism; racism.
Courses & Teaching: Sociology of development; sociology of fear; political sociology; Latin America; racism.
Peter Urmetzer | Associate Professor Emeritus | Sociology | peter.urmetzer@ubc.ca | ART 315
Research Interests: Economic sociology; particularly globalization and free trade; how non-economic factors, such as values and culture, influence economic decision making.
Courses & Teaching: Introduction to sociology; Canadian society; political economy; survey methods.
Julien Vernet | Associate Professor | History | julien.vernet@ubc.ca | 250.807.9326 | ART 240
Research Interests: United States history.
Courses & Teaching: United States; French Americas.
Barbara Wilke | Senior Assistant | History, Sociology | barbara.wilke@ubc.ca | 250.807.9335 | ART 313
Maurice Williams | Professor Emeritus | History | maurice.williams@ubc.ca
Research Interests: National Socialism in Central Europe; the Kettle Valley Railway in the Okanagan Valley.
Courses & Teaching: Early modern and modern Europe; German and Habsburg history; great power diplomacy in 20th century; the Kettle Valley Railway.
Mike Zajko | Assistant Professor | Sociology | mike.zajko@ubc.ca | 250.807.9896 | ART 308

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Governance; internet policy; security; social media.
Courses & Teaching: Social theory; criminology; surveillance studies; quantitative methods; introductory sociology.

For Graduate Student profiles, see the College of Graduate Studies website.