Contact & People

Department of History and Sociology
Irving K. Barber School of Arts and Sciences
University of British Columbia Okanagan
1147 Research Road
Kelowna, BC V1V 1V7
Canada

Email: hs.okanagan@ubc.ca
Please direct all general inquires to the above email address.

Find a Program Advisor

Our People

Role:
Disciplines :
Search Keyword:

Luis Aguiar | Associate Professor | Sociology | luis.aguiar@ubc.ca | 250.807.9346

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: The globalization of the "Justice for Janitors" campaigns; global unions; Eddie Melo: What were you? The Neoliberal University; whiteness; the Canadian Hinterland.
Courses & Teaching: Globalization and labour; urban sociology; sociology of tourism; race and racism; qualitative methods; urban studies.
Piotr (Peter) Ahmad | Instructor | Sociology | p.ahmad@ubc.ca
Research Interests: Sociology of identity, ethnic and political identities, national identity and citizenship, nationalism,political and social theory, sovereignty and Indigenous sovereignty, theory of cultural and minority rights.
Courses & Teaching: Introduction to sociology, political sociology, social inequality (UBCO); in the past: global politics.
Bonar Buffam | Assistant Professor | Sociology | bonar.buffam@ubc.ca | 250.807.9223

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Race and empire; crime and punishment; socio-legal studies; religion and secularity; urban geographies; social and cultural theory.
Courses & Teaching: Sociology of religion; law and modern personhood.
Todd Campbell | Continuing Sessional Lecturer | History | todd.campbell@ubc.ca | 250.807.9387
Ruth Frost | Associate Professor | History | ruth.frost@ubc.ca | 250.807.9407
Research Interests: Late medieval English urban history.
Courses & Teaching: History of western civilization; women in Canada and the US to 1867. Specifically: History 116 – History of Western Civilization, 1450-1789; History 119 – Medieval Europe; History 314 – Women in Canada and the US to 1867; History 420 – Women in Early Modern Europe; History 424 – Women in the Middle Ages; History 430A – Migration and Immigration in Europe from 1000-1650 CE.
Catherine Higgs | Professor | History | catherine.higgs@ubc.ca | 250.807.9978
Research Interests: Southern Africa; Portuguese Africa; Atlantic World; religion; politics; activism; labour; agriculture; policy.
Courses & Teaching: Africa; South Africa; British and Portuguese colonialism; religious history; women's history; world history.
Jasmin Hristov | Assistant Professor | Gender and Women's Studies, Sociology | jasmin.hristov@ubc.ca | 250.807.9433

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Development and conflict; political violence; non-state armed actors; human rights; neoliberalilsm; Latin America; land dispossession; human trafficking and sexual violence.
Courses & Teaching: Political sociology; development sociology; sociology of gender; global sociology; social inequality; social problems; globalization; social justice and human rights; classical and contemporary sociological theory; social movements; gender and development.
James Hull | Associate Professor | History | james.hull@ubc.ca | 250.807.9414
Research Interests: History of the Second Industrial Revolution as an historical phenomenon, as an historical concept, and as an historiographic problem; understanding how and why technology changes.
Courses & Teaching: History of science and technology; industrialization. Specifically: HIST 112 Canada Since 1876; HIST 215 Technology in History; HIST 218 History of Science; HIST 308 The Scientific Revolution; HIST 309 The Rise of Modern Science; HIST 331 The United States, 1865-1896; HIST 460 Topics in Technology and Society in History; HIST 492 History, Theory and Method.
Brigitte Le Normand | Associate Professor | History | brigitte.lenormand@ubc.ca | 250.807.8232

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Urban studies; socialist Yugoslavia; labour migration in Cold War Europe.
Courses & Teaching: European urban history; Modern Eastern Europe; the Soviet Union; Modern France; urban studies. Specifically: HIST 115 World History from First to Second World War; HIST 126 History of Western Civilization; HIST 336 Eastern Europe During the Cold War; HIST 443 20th-Century Russia
Tina Lissa Marten | PhD Candidate | Sociology | tina.marten@ubc.ca
Research Interests: My PhD investigates transnational labour migration, in particular the migration of high-skilled German workers to the Okanagan under auspices of the British Columbia Provincial Nominee Program. My research interests are varied; I have conducted research projects on the Okanagan's wine industry, homelessness, housing markets, whiteness, the New Economy, the prison industrial complex and the sociological impacts of climate change. I published and presented from my work at various Canadian and inte
Jan McTavish | Adjunct Professor | History | jan.mctavish@ubc.ca | 250.807.9403
Research Interests: History of the pharmaceutical industry; therapeutics; aspirin.
Courses & Teaching: History of science and medicine; ancient history.
Laura Mudde | PhD Student | Sociology | lmuddeva@mail.ubc.ca
Research Interests: My tentative research topic is focused on the Truth and Reconciliation legacy in Canada in connection to questions of whiteness, guilt, trauma, and denial. I am interested in the framing of historical trauma and reconciliation through the use of critical theory, state surveillance and governance, as well as resistant counter narratives to dominant perspectives on national history and issues of continued settler colonialism.
Mary Ann Murphy | Associate Professor | Social Work, Sociology | mary-ann.murphy@ubc.ca | 250.807.8705

Graduate student supervisor


Courses & Teaching: Constitutional/Charter Litigation & Social Policy Policy and Practice Issues Affecting an Older Population Social Policy and Comparative Family Policy Social Welfare Law and Human Rights: International Human Rights & Aging Aging/Gerontological Social Work Intergenerational Relationships Visual Sociology
Ben Nilson | Associate Professor | History | ben.nilson@ubc.ca | 250.807.9327
Research Interests: Popular religion and social history of the Middle Ages.
Courses & Teaching: History of Medieval Europe; early modern England. Specifically: HIST 110 Survey of the Ancient World; HIST 119 Medieval Europe; HIST 201 Religion in the West; HIST 325 Europe in 1215; HIST 324 Tudor England, 1485-1603; HIST 344 Stuart England, 1603-1714; HIST 413 Reformation Europe; HIST 414 Medieval England
Doug Owram | Professor Emeritus | History | doug.owram@ubc.ca
Research Interests: Post-Confederation Canadian history, with a specialization in intellectual, social and economic history.
Courses & Teaching: Canadian foreign policy; Canadian intellectual history; post 45 Canada.
Shelley Pacholok | Assistant Professor | Sociology | shelley.pacholok@ubc.ca | 250.807.8707
Research Interests: Gender; families; work; disaster.
Courses & Teaching: Gender; work; families; social inequality; qualitative methods.
Tim Paulson | Assistant Professor | History | tim.paulson@ubc.ca

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Environmental history; economic history; applied/public history; arid landscapes; food; capitalism; markets.
Courses & Teaching: Environmental history; Canadian history; North American history; world history.
Peter Russell | Associate Professor Emeritus | History | peter.russell@ubc.ca | 250.807.9365
Research Interests: Canadian social and political history.
Deana Simonetto | Assistant Professor | Sociology | deana.simonetto@ubc.ca

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Gender, Health and Sport, Qualitative Methods, Self and Identity, Symbolic Interaction, Deviance and Social Problems, Social Media.
Courses & Teaching: Sociology of gender, sociology of sport, introduction to sociology, qualitative methods.
Jessica Stites Mor | Associate Professor | History | jessica.stites-mor@ubc.ca | 250.807.9655

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Transnational solidarity movements; politics and culture of the left; cinema and digital media.
Courses & Teaching: Latin America; Global South; documentary.
Kelly Struthers Montford | Assistant Professor | Sociology | k.sm@ubc.ca | 250.807.8694

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Critical prison studies; critical animal studies; philosophy; social theory; food studies; climate change
Courses & Teaching: Environmental sociology; sociology of food; critical animal studies; social theory; feminist theory
Ruochen (Andy) Sun | Sociology | ruochen.a.sun@gmail.com
Research Interests: My thesis research, ‘Illusions of Ethnic Homogeneity: Rethinking Chinese Identity in Vancouver, BC’, examines racialization and racialized discourses about Chinese (im)migrants. Specifically, I am interested in how common representations of real estate and property investment are implicated in producing hegemonic notions of Chinese identity in Vancouver, despite the diverse socioeconomic statuses and geographical origins (from both within and without China proper) of recent Chinese (im)migrants.
Duane Thomson | Professor Emeritus | History | duane.thomson@shaw.ca
Research Interests: British Columbia history, First Nations and Metis history and Okanagan history.
Patricia Tomic | Associate Professor Emeritus | Sociology | patricia.tomic@ubc.ca
Research Interests: Politics of language; Latin American immigration to Canada; feminism; Chile; the Okanagan.
Courses & Teaching: Sociological theory; sociology of education; feminism.
Ricardo Trumper | Associate Professor Emeritus | Sociology | ricardo.trumper@ubc.ca
Research Interests: Latin America; neoliberalism; racism.
Courses & Teaching: Sociology of development; sociology of fear; political sociology; Latin America; racism.
Peter Urmetzer | Associate Professor Emeritus | Sociology | peter.urmetzer@ubc.ca | 250.807.8709
Research Interests: Economic sociology; particularly globalization and free trade; how non-economic factors, such as values and culture, influence economic decision making.
Courses & Teaching: Introduction to sociology; Canadian society; political economy; survey methods.
Julien Vernet | Associate Professor | History | julien.vernet@ubc.ca | 250.807.9326
Research Interests: United States history.
Courses & Teaching: United States; French Americas.
Barbara Wilke | Senior Assistant | History, Sociology | barbara.wilke@ubc.ca | 250.807.9335
Maurice Williams | Professor Emeritus | History | maurice.williams@ubc.ca
Research Interests: National Socialism in Central Europe; the Kettle Valley Railway in the Okanagan Valley.
Courses & Teaching: Early modern and modern Europe; German and Habsburg history; great power diplomacy in 20th century; the Kettle Valley Railway.
Michael Zajko | Assistant Professor | Sociology | mike.zajko@ubc.ca | 250.807.9896

Graduate student supervisor


Research Interests: Governance; internet policy; security; social media.
Courses & Teaching: Social theory; criminology; surveillance studies; quantitative methods; introductory sociology.